Jammu and Kashmir Bifurcation: Government forms 3-member panel to oversee bifurcation of J&K

Jammu and Kashmir Bifurcation: A three-member panel has been formed by the Union Government to oversee the implementation of bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories.
The 3-member advisory committee will be headed by former defence secretary Sanjay Mitra and its members include retired IAS officer Arun Goyal and retired Indian Civil Accounts Service officer Giriraj Prasad.
Advisory panel functions
The 3-member committee will have to oversee the distribution of assets and liabilities between the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The Union Territory status will come into effect from October 31.
Advisory panel term
The advisory committee will start functioning with immediate effect. The committee will initially have a term of six months and it will get extended further if needed.
Advisory panel constitution
A notification from the Union Home Ministry, “the Central government has constituted the advisory committee by exercising the powers conferred by Section 84 and Section 85 of the J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019.”
Section 84
The Section 84 of the J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019 states that assets and liabilities of Jammu and Kashmir will have to be distributed among the two Union Territories.
Section 85
The Section 85 of the J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019 states that the centre has the power to constitute committees to oversee the matters of apportionment of assets, rights and liabilities of the companies and corporations of the newly created Union Territories.
The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Bill 2019 was passed by the Indian Parliament in August 2019. The bill proposed bifurcation of the state into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.
The centre also revoked the special status of Jammu and Kashmir by withdrawing Article 370 of the Indian constitution. Though Jammu and Kashmir will have its legislative assembly, Ladakh will be directly governed by the centre.

No comments:

Post a Comment